**PLEASE POST** 

# Convention delegates elect new Provincial Executive including six new diversity vice-presidents

Barb Nederpel and Betty Valenzuela re-elected as president and financial secretary

More than 600 delegates elected 26 Provincial Executive (PE) members at HEU's 33<sup>rd</sup> biennial convention in Vancouver held October 16-21.

HEU president Barb Nederpel and financial secretary Betty Valenzuela were re-elected to their third terms in office.

"We have an opportunity to build on the energy that convention brings and take action on the direction members give us," said Nederpel. "And I am excited that locals are demanding more education and resources so they can engage members and enforce rights."

"I am always humbled and honoured to serve our membership," said Valenzuela. "Our members are the heart and soul of health care, and they have proven that in spades during the pandemic."

Secretary-business manager Meena Brisard was ratified at HEU's 2021 convention.

"It's been an exciting convention as we've elected our first diversity vice-presidents," says Brisard. "We are moving forward in our commitment to build a more inclusive union."

Delegates also re-elected 1<sup>st</sup> vice-president Bill McMullan (Kardel local) and 2<sup>nd</sup> vice-president Charlotte Millington (Royal Jubilee local). and Donovan Adlam (PHSA Amalgamated local) was elected 3<sup>rd</sup> vice-president.

Senior trustee-elect Chris Batting (Prince George local) and trustee Olivia Burgon (Queen's Park local) were also elected. They'll join Talitha Dekker (accounts receivable clerk, Kamloops/Thompson), who was elected at the last convention and will serve as senior trustee for the next two years.

Delegates made history on Wednesday when they elected the union's new diversity vice-president (DVP) positions and their alternates.

• Ethnic Diversity – Cora Mojica (Vancouver General local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Belina Fernandez (Victoria General local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Manoj Saxena (Royal Jubilee local)

...more

# Page two

- *Indigenous Peoples* Lynn Serhan (Armstrong local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Teresa Roe (Langley local)
- *People with Disabilities* Christine Edgecombe (CMHA Fraser local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Dane Philpott (Royal Jubilee local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Natasha Cox (Buchanan local)
- *Pink Triangle* Darlene Bown (Victoria General local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Ronald Larsen (Becon local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Kevin Dickie (Lions Gate local)
- 2-Spirit, Women & Non-Binary Lisa Kreut (Vancouver General local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Samantha Cartwright (Prince George local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Judy Gicho (Aramark Critical Care Tower Surrey local)
- *Young Workers* Seyda Yalcin (Coast/VRC local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Nicole Nellaney (Louis Brier local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Che Baines (Coast/VRC local)

Thirteen regional vice-presidents (RVP) plus alternates for each position were elected.

#### Fraser RVPs

- Bonnie Hammermeister (Surrey local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Tina Thiessen (Chilliwack Amalgamated local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Jonathan Donaldson (Maple Ridge local)
- Scott McKay (Chilliwack Amalgamated local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Ryan Parsons (Royal Columbian local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Tina Poitras (Willingdon local)
- Diane Tomei (Chilliwack Amalgamated local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Bonnie Ayap (Laurel Place local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Julie Ovens (Chilliwack Amalgamated local)

#### **Interior RVPs**

- Heidi Collins (Vernon local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Baljit Sandhu (Vernon local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Sara Oliver (Penticton local)
- Monica Thiessen (Salmon Arm/Shuswap), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Kim McIlravey (100 Mile local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Michelle Nelson (Cache Creek local)
- Barbara Shukin (F.W. Green local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Valerie Sailer (Sparwood local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Marsha Wiebe (Arrow Lakes local)

#### Northern RVPs

- Angela Sharf (Prince George local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Kimberly Harker (Fort St. John local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Tracey Beckley (Prince George local)
- Lisa Crema (Prince George local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Michelle Jolley (Prince George local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Angie Bonazzo (Prince George local)

## Vancouver Coastal RVPs

• Louella Vincent (WHR Lower Mainland local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Ruth Mangrubang (Yaletown local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Jason Sullivan (St. Paul's local)

# Page three

- Maria Lugs (Richmond local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Jovito Espinoza (PHSA Amalgamated local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Tyler Moore (Lions Gate local)
- Karen McVeigh (Dogwood local), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Daryl Roche (PHSA Amalgamated local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Irene Rillera (KCC local)

### Vancouver Island RVP

- Ian Smith (Royal Jubilee local, South Island), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Teresa McCoy (South Vancouver Island local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Barbara Riggs (Royal Jubilee local)
- Phil Henderson (Arranglen, North Island), 1<sup>st</sup> alternate Kim Heaps (Arrowsmith local), 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate Crystal Christianson (Tri-Port local)

Eight PE alternates were also elected: Jesse Winfrey (Cowichan Valley local), Catherine Black (Tri-Port local), Stephen Ariss (Kelowna local), Barb Clark (Ashcroft local), Terri-Lynne Huddlestone (Prince Rupert local), Ethel Purugganan (Normandy local), Olga Torres-Andino Jr (Kardel local) and Arniel Abella (Kelowna local).

October 21, 2022